The Department of Mathematics of Syamaprasad College was established in the year 1998 and Since its inception, the Department has always been a unit of appreciation by its quality of teaching. A galaxy of Mathematicians has adorned the department all the time. Along with the vigorous academic activity, the department does also excel in teaching. The department can live up to the expectations of serious students all the time and in all the days to come. The department has gradually developed a culture of exchanging mathematical ideas through organizing seminars as well as continuous interaction among the faculty members, research scholars and students. The department’s regular curriculum includes special interactive classes for preparing the students to take various competitive examinations. These interactions certainly enhance their ability for solving problems and make them more confident to bag awards and honours at ease. We proudly announce that our initiative is being rewarded every year by the growing trend of success and the consistent academic achievements of our students.
The department encourages students to pursue various inter – disciplinary interests. Students can pursue various post graduate courses like M.Sc., M.C.A. and M.B.A. apart from the choice of taking up placements that are offered to them by companies that require their expertise as mathematics graduates.

“Mathematics reveals its secrets only to those who approach it with pure love, for its own beauty”- Archimedes.

Faculty Members

Name                                         Qualification                 Designation                E-mail

Joydip Jana                                    Ph. D.                       Asst. Professor          

Mijanur Rahaman                        Ph. D.                       Asst. Professor          

Priyanka Chakraborty                Ph. D.                      Guest Faculty            

Himadri Karmakar                       Ph. D.                       Guest Faculty            

Soma Chatterjee                          M. Sc                       Guest Faculty